Wendell Berry on "intentional communities"

When an interviewer in 1973 asked him about the widespread emergence of “intentional communities,” Berry cut to the quick. “I’m much more interested in the results of accidental communities that have formed by fate and fortune and circumstance. The intentional community seems to me a rather escapist idea, sort of a new version of the white citizen’s council. I thought that’s what we were trying to get away from.” Clearly he had no intention of making sure his counterculture bona fides were up to date. “No community is suitable,” he added. “There’s plenty wrong with them all. I could construct an airtight argument for not settling in my own community. The fact is that I’m spending my life constructing an argument for being here.”

Eric Miller, A Better Stand, Local Culture:A Journal of the Front Porch Republic (Volume 2, Number 2)

(Berry and Christopher Lasch were substantially contemporaries, and influenced each other.)

My main blog is the Tipsy Teetotaler, http://intellectualoid.com.